ATC Guidance for the beginner

Dumb question time. I am a new pilot, have done flight sims before, so know how to fly. I have never flown with anything like ATC. Is there some guide or a list of how to talk to the AI ATC for the beginner? Proper procedures from push back through landing and parking? I just finished the 8 training scenarios and started flying around the DA40 and want to be as “Real” and as correct as possible. I find myself missing steps cause I don’t really know what I’m doing.

1 Like

I don’t want to be the one to break the bad news to you, but FS2020 ATC is about as far from ‘real’ as it gets…

In the real world, you don’t communicate with ATC in regards to the actual pushback directions. The ATC ground taxi instructions are completely wrong and just made up because the airport taxiways aren’t named correctly. The devs just decided to make up fake airport maps. The IFR clearance is missing basically everything, you will normally get a first vector / waypoint / SID instruction, plus expected cruise altitude, plus your routing, which FS2020 doesn’t give you.

In short, any online video or guidance you find will be pretty useless. You kinda just have to follow the bouncing ball on the FS2020 ATC menu and figure it out. Generally the next step of who to contact or what to say is the #1 option on the list.

7 Likes

Thanks. I’ll just follow the flow, jot down some notes on sequence.

1 Like

If you want a more realistic ATC experience, I’d suggest using VATSIM. They have real people controlling different airspaces and they are trained so it’s pretty professional level stuff. Here’s a live map you can use to see what places have live coverage at any moment (you may have to turn off your adblocker for it to load).

Here are the guides I used to help me understand what to say at each phase of flight.