Can you read the cockpit? What headset do you have?

Flight Sim 2020 in VR is like my dream game.

Outside of the pretty poor performance I am getting, even with a 3080 and Ryzen 5800x, if I could actually read the cockpit that would be pretty awesome.

I have an HTC Vive and I literally cannot read any buttons, knobs, labels on almost anything, even when I hold the focus button then physically lean way in in real life only then can I be able to read them. They are mostly just little white blobs in the shape of words lol. I know the Vive is basically the worst possible headset for text clarity…but I was kinda hoping it would be ok.

I want to buy a clearer headset so I will be able to read the dashboard. I am a pilot in real life, but I am flying quite a few unfamiliar airframes here, so I am not familiar with where things are.

When I can’t even read it that makes it pretty difficult. Even with aircraft I am familiar with, but haven’t flown in quite a while it’s pretty rough.

I am running SteamVR at 100% scaling and, the game at 80%, and more or less running the default VR graphics settings, other than raising the Texture quality to Ultra, hoping that would make the text more readable.

I’m willing to invest the money in a better headset if it will actually improve it, but I’d kinda like to know ahead of time!

Thanks!

1 Like

Unfortunately I think that is an issue with the Vive panels. I had the same issues in all other games over the years. For the ones that were well optimized you could increase SS alot which helped a bit but you still had to lean in.
What would be a great feature for the devs to add is some sort of magnifying tool. For example hover mouse over altimeter and press a key which then expands the altimeter. Maybe in the vector style you see in external view pancake.

Question: Do you have the weird scaling as well with the htc vive where cockpit seems very small? I have that and it really doesn’t help in being able to read instruments