CPU Limited, I think?

Apart from tweaking settings i’m pretty new to looking at performance squeezing :slight_smile:

I took this picture today, I think it tells me i’m CPU limited but unsure about frame times etc or if there is anything I can do to gain any performance here?

Its an i12900K & 3080ti combo but I’m running triple screens 2K - 4K - 2K plus two 1080p touch-screens on USB-HDMI adaptors for airmanager & popout screens.

FPS

If that’s on the ground or below 500ft agl it’s fine and will improve as you gain height.
Things seem to change after every update but lately I’ve been tuning at 1000ft matching gpu and mainthread render times above a PG city. Every PC is different but for me this still behaves itself on the ground albeit with a reduction in fps. I don’t usually play at 4k but when tested even as low as 20fps was still smooth.

1 Like

Yes it was on the ground at Stansted with custom scenery installed

1 Like

Yup then it looks good to me … enjoy :smiley:
A couple of sim updates ago this would have been guaranteed stutters and is a good example why we should all recalibrate after every SU.

1 Like

Am I correct - (just thinking out loud)

As it is CPU limited, there is zero improvement to be had by changing the GPU?

As the CPU restriction was bought on by my adding two USB-HDMI touch-screens, would it be better or worse (or even possible) to add another (smaller) GPU and move the touch-screens to that instead?

Not exactly, as there is always things you can do to help lower cpu frame times e.g. lowering LOD will have an exponential effect, the better the gpu the more extra fps you will get. It would be the same for cpu/ram overclocks in that a weak gpu would see less benefit.