Do real pilots use QNH to mean altimiter setting?

In many forum posts I see “QNH” to refer to the setting in the window of the altimeter, so that when it is set correctly and the aircraft is on the runway, it will display the actual altitude of the airport. I also know that QNH is one of a series of Q signals invented in the early 20th century as abbreviations to make Morse code messages shorter, and to allow radio operators who spoke different languages to exchange rudimentary information.

My question is whether modern real-life pilots still say “QNH” instead of something like “altimeter setting”?

By the way, as an amateur radio operator, I have sent and received a variety of Q signals in Morse code.

1 Like

In the EU they do.

1 Like

In the US I think most ATC will just say ‘altimeter 29.92’ when they refer to the barometric pressure.

1 Like

QNH in the land of OZ

3 Likes

„QNH“ is used for mbar settings while „altimeter“ means you get it in inches on the mercury bar.

As you already know QNH is a morse shorty and means nothing else than the theoretical pressure at MSL at this airport. But not less either. IMO it‘s a precise description of what you‘re talking about in opposite to the slang like „altimeter“. It‘s a bit like „set your altimeter to what I tell you and don‘t ask any questions“. I like the precision that comes with QNH and QFE.

2 Likes

I think most of the world does outside of USA and Canada.

3 Likes

QNH is ‘nautical height’ so gives you height above sea-level, useful when reading maps whilst VFR.
QFE is ‘field elevation’, so gives you height above the airfield, useful for joining the circuit and landing.

When ATC say altimeter isn’t that for controlled airspace so everyone has the same setting for deconfliction, and 29.92 is the standard setting for flight-levels.

3 Likes