Do you use a UPS?

Wondering if anyone here uses a UPS for their sim rig? Not so much in the sense of backup for power outage, or surge protection. But more in the sense of delivering consistent power to the PC?

I noticed something in my house but never fully paid attention to it. I live in a new build, everything is LED, and I would notice when appliances would kick in or out, the LED lights in the house would flicker. The larger the appliance, the more the flicker.

I’m no electrician but I would imagine this is more noticiable in LED’s then traditional bulbs?

That got me thinking, if the voltage within the wiring fluctuates depending on whats going on in the house, then the voltage to the sim rig would as well and in turn could potentially lead to sub optimal performance (amongst other things).

So I grabbed a couple UPS units today and will plug into those rather than the surge protector / wall outlet.

But was curious if others used them in the same manner (to ensure steady / clean power).

1 Like

Yep… I’ve used one for years. For a while, we were having intermittent outages and brownouts. The UPS solved the problem. I wouldn’t be without one.

1 Like

I’ve been using one for about 7 years, precisely for the reasons you mentioned, and it was worth the cost for me. I used to live in a house built in the 1920s, with knob and tube wiring, and there were always fluctuations in voltage, especially from appliances, some of which led to reboots and CTDs. No more issues after I got a UPS, and it would kick in and smooth out the power a couple times a week.

I live in a modern building now with no such issues, but I still use it for the backup power. We have some pretty intense wind storms on the BC coast and it has saved me from losing work in power outages multiple times. A worthwhile investment.

2 Likes