Finally got my Quest 2, Oculus link and Flight Sim working. I'm a happy camper

Well, it only took about 3 dozen Red Bulls and lots of hair pulling, but it’s working…and actually pretty nice.

I7 10700 running at 5 Ghz, a crappy AMD RX 590. Render setting are 100, terrain and object detail both at 150.

Now if they could make it so a friend (living elsewhere with VR capabilities) could log into a server and “ride-along” as a passenger.

2 Likes

Hi there good to hear you’ve cracked it

Can you share your settings, I’m new to vr and currently trying to get the settings right but quite sure what setting do what.

Don’t want to go down the red bull route it would probably kill me

1 Like

Beyond what I posted above, I’m still messing with the settings.
Take a look at this thread for some guidance with the settings.

Just got a Quest 2 as well. Follow post #12’s suggestions EXACTLY and it will blow your mind.

Took a couple hours of fiddling to get my Rift S to work properly. Spent a good 5 hours trying to get a G2 to “acceptable”. Never got there, that headset is an embarrassment and it’s going back. Followed the above directions on the Q2 and was immediately impressed. 30 minutes and we’re golden.

3 Likes

Thanks for the link. I hadn’t come across that one before.

The Quest 2 has been a real mysterious bugger to get set up and running. :slight_smile:

My wife said the same thing when I demoed FS VR to her. It would be good if it became a feature.

What I’ve been doing is streaming my flight to YouTube. From there a few friends (all ham radio operators) go to my stream and then we chat on 2-meter radio (146.520 mhz). Everyone can see my flight (but only at 2D). We’ll spend hours “flying” around while they ask me to fly in different parts of the country or world. It’s a lot of fun.