Ok Quest 2 users let's unite and list our settings/specs etc

So I’m running a 2060 with a Quest 2 via Link cable and it’s a shimmering/pixelated mess at the moment. I’ve followed all guides/posts on here so far. Getting around 25fps in the headset. Yes it is immersive but it doesn’t look as good as it should.

My preferences in the Oculus desktop software are:

90hz refresh rate
Rendering at 1.0

Debug tool:

FOV stencil off
Asycnchornus Spacewarp to off
Everything else default

What is everyone running and what settings did people use to get it at least 30fps and looking at least half decent?

I’m kind of thinking it might be my headset? I don’t know. I have until the 31st January to return my headset to Amazon.

I’m not an expert in VR just got this so I’m getting my head around all the terms etc.

The Quest with a link cable is currently broken.

It has a frame timing issue that causes constant stutter.

See this thread:

No word from the devs yet on a fix.

3 Likes

It’s not just you, I have been having the same issue with Link on my Quest 1 since I have owned it in DCS flight simulator. Just tried VR in MSFS with native Oculus and yes, it is the same thing I notice in DCS. My fix in DCS is to use SteamVR instead of running it natively with Oculus, so I tried that and that got rid of the micro stutters in MSFS too. This whole time I assumed it was a DCS problem, not a global one. Thanks for the info FlyinJPetrol :+1:

1 Like

Fascinating. Maybe we can finally get this fixed, since it seems to be a common issue to X-Plane, MSFS, and DCS too, yet none of my other VR apps do this with Quest/Link. There must be some common thing in their implementation, which is either causing the problem itself, or is triggering a bug in the Oculus runtime or Nvidia drivers. The fact that we can run DCS or X-Plane in SteamVR using the same settings and get smooth performance compared to the fluctuating framerate in the native Oculus runtime proves it’s a bug.