Forum Outage since MN Friday 23-OCT?

No feedback on why the forums were down since last night? I’d been trying to connect since then.

4 Likes

Looks like an update.

It was getting a 500 server error. What that means to non programmers: CTD :grin:

3 Likes

Same, just back in the last few mins. Nothing on twitter but there was an announcement about 5pm UK time on discord - but it had been down all day for me

1 Like

Well that is one way to keep the forum trolls quiet…lol

11 Likes

:grin: I almost missed it today!

1 Like

Looks like the forums were down for about 18 hours in total. I wonder if any of the board admins will enlighten us as to what happened?

I’m an IT engineer so the more juicy technical details the better, I doubt we’ll get any though.

5 Likes

An official statement that forum is down would have been nice though. I searched the FS2020 officia Facebook and Twitter accounts for an answer why I couldn’t get access to the forum whole day…

1 Like

Same here - only notice I saw was on discord - I suppose it is the weekend though

The moderator team first noticed the forums outage at approximately 2020-10-24T02:56:00Z.

A Discord moderator posted a notice in the announcements channel at 2020-10-24T06:05:00Z. We (the forum moderators) don’t have the ability to post announcements through other channels (Twitter, Facebook, etc.)

I plan to bring this issue up with the Community Team next week to see if we can improve our communication around forum outages.

24 Likes

Agree: I think that would be a good thing to do.

There would appear to be numerous “servers” that are necessary for MSFS to function correctly.

The problem is not so much that they go “down”, but that there is no easy way for a user to tell, if it is their PC or the servers.

What would seem to make sense, would be to have an “Automated Server Status” notification on the Main Flightsimulator.com Home page.

ie like Microsoft Xbox already has !!!