Horribly basic questions from total newb to cockpit building

Please be gentle!

I am flying with MSFS 2020 and loving it.

I have the Saitek/Logitech radio panel, multi panel and one FIP, all of which are now working well, along with the Honeycomb Alpha Yoke (which I think is an amazing bit of kit). Have the Bravo Throttle Quadrant on order.

I have done some research online but cannot find definitive answers/advice to the following 2 really basic questions:

1. How do I make connection between the Sim on the PC, and any home-made panel/switches - presumably I will need some sort of ā€œinterfaceā€ so that MSFS 2020 recognises the switch/panel I want to use. Can this ā€œinterfaceā€ be bought commercially and is it easy to install etc? And will MSFS 2020 recognise it in such a way that I can assign the function(s) I want to it/them [for example fuel cut off/shut off valve]?

2. How are additional touch screen monitors connected? Via HDMI on PC to HDMI or USB on the monitors? Or can they be USB on PC to HDMI or USB on the monitor?

I have seen several videos on YT extolling the virtues of adding a couple of touch screen monitors, particularly for Garmin G1000. I would like to pursue this further.

I already use my iPad (via Duet Display) for showing LittleNavMap + the NavLog away from the main screen - this was easy to set up (thankfully).

Will also look at Air Manager v4 when it is full release (rather than Beta), when the iPad version comes out.

Finally (whew!) - can anyone please recommend a link to a sensible website/forum with 101 guides where I can do further research?

Thanks in advance to all.

Regards, Alasdair

Hi,

I use spad-next for the yoke and panels, it works perfect.
I also use tablets with random software from playstore.
example https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.tambucho.fsradiopanel
here you can see how it works.

1 Like

Hi HAL9000SZ - I appreciate the reply.