How clear is text supposed to be in VR?

I’m quite new to VR, as the Reverb G2 is my first headset. All I’ve really played is MSFS and Star Wars Squadrons. I’m running a fairly modest PC (I7-8700K, GTX 1080 TI), and can get a fairly solid 30+ FPS with appropriate settings (largely based on @ CptLucky8’s concepts). I prioritze being able to read instruments and text, however, so I run 100% in sim scaling with 50% OpenXR scaling. That lets me read most instruments reasonably well, though some of the smaller text can be challenging. The loss of quality in the terrain is noticable, but an acceptable tradeoff for me.

I came accross this post, where CptLucky8 describes settings with the Valve Index that make the small green text on the TBM’s MFD readable: Is the HP Reverb g2 worth buying? - #16 by LoeweStaub8533

I can say that I really need to lean in to have any chance of reading those with my settings on the G2. I also have trouble with some other small text, like on some of the smaller G1000 buttons. Supersampling can help, but it would need to be something like 100/200, which would be unplayable on any computer in 2021. It’s quite impressive to see what the future may look like, even if it is only a slideshow today.

So my question is: what level of clarity is realistic for VR? My impression was that for its faults, the G2 had the best clarity. That’s one reason why I selected it given my emphasis on being able to read instruments. Is it that badly flawed in its impelmentation? Or might there be something off about my settings or hardware? How does text look with something like a Rift S?

To be clear, I’m very much enjoying the immersion of VR and would find it hard to go back to using a monitor. But I’m curious if I’m getting the best possible experience.

Thank you, everyone.

1 Like