Kitfox flight model patch

I’ve started to modify some of the flight model problems on the BT Kitfox STI.

That’s work in progress, and as I am not an expert in that subject, very approximative.
But as far as it is, plane can now takeoff shortly, land shortly too, and the idea is precisely to have a fun plane to fly with.

7 Likes

Awesome, I tryed to do something, but I couldn’t because of the .fsarchive files !!!

Well it’s still impossible to correct flaps animation, garmin modes, add buttons in the cockpit…

There’s a new release today :
I’ve adjusted a few parameters to try to correct :

• a less powerfull plane with the patch
  • it must stay still with an idle engine and no brake
3 Likes

I can finally test it !!!
Nice, now it’s a STOL plane:)

Some feedback:

• The liveries are swaped, STi is the gray one, I swaped them in the file.
  • Did you change the CG ? When braking, it’s really dificult not overturn. Trent Palmer says he often goes full brakes (Edit: CG didn’t change, but weight changed …)
  • Beside final breaking, landing feels much much better, now it’s a challenge with full flaps, before it was too easy with the engine shutted off
  • Weight and many other things were just a rip-off of the savege cub before, compare the .cfg files :wink:

I’m eager to buy the Kitfox from the people who is collaborating with Trent Palmer, they must have real data from the manufacturer, meanwhile this MOD improves this Kitfox :slight_smile:

Thanks for your feedback : I’ve tried something to help ground handling and braking (see new release)

1 Like

After attempting to install the patch, my Kitfox goes missing from my aircraft collection. When I restore the original “layout.json” file, it’s back in the lineup again. Any ideas why it goes missing?

You must also have the “bagolu-kitfox-fm” directory in your community folder, otherwise the airplane is incomplete.
Sorry about the complexity but this is because of the DRM system