New to Flight Sims - Throttle *Updated*

Hello, thank you for having me!

I joined here to simply ask based on experience, what you would suggest a beginner like myself.

My aim is to do GA so really, MSFS 2020 only.

I am new to flight sims with my only experience being over 20 years ago on a Microsoft Sidewinder.

I ordered a VBK Gladiator Premium which arrives next Tuesday however I also ordered a Thrustmaster Flight-T to hold me over; I am enjoying the TM so much I now want to order a throttle to pair with my VBK.

Contenders are Virpil CM3, TM Warthog, and Winwing Orion F-18

Virpil seems more aimed at GA, which would be better suited for me but the software nightmares I’ve read and watched are a little off putting.

The Warthog seems to play very well with MSFS as far as mapping goes, but seems to leave out some of the items found on the other 2 mentioned.

Winwing, like the Warthog is supposed to be a replica throttle, but can be used for GA only with better software than Virpil.

So really I’m at a standstill and being completely new to flight sims, what would you suggest? Would prefer just to keep it to about $3-400 budget.

Thank you.

1 Like

You do realise VBK has more than just that Gladiator Premium stick of yours, right? They have a lineup of ALOT of other goodies on their website that might fill your need in the 400 dollar range.
(i’ve been looking around for a Hotas as well, since my G940 is slowly declining due to age and VBK looked quite interesting to me, especially with the stick extenders, but also their throttle quadrants and buttonbox combo’s…) Although i’m also partial to the boeing lever addons to the Honeycomb Bravo Quadrant https://prodesksim.com/products/honeycomb-bravo-737-throttle-handle-set-x-plane-fs2020-flight-simulator (and ofcourse then, the quadrant itself, lol… but i dont feel i have the space for that big thing on my obutto simrig… but, maybe i do… i’ll find out when i get that far… choices choices :wink: )