Question for the real world pilots here

I have a problem, and it’s time I’m honest with myself about it. Looking for others’ thoughts here. I’m a private pilot, probably 85% of the way to getting my Instrument, with dreams of commercial and flying cargo or passengers in the Caribbean some day. I’m 45, very steady, good job. I enjoy flying but it does make me apprehensive at times. I consider myself to be a very competent pilot.

My problem is this: I love simming. And I’m starting to think that it may just fill my flying need. 100LL and Jet-A in the sim are the same price, $0. Planes are cheap, too. Hourly rentals are low, no maintenance. (Being sarcastic here). In real life I have access to two wonderful club planes, a 150 and a Cherokee 180. Both incredibly well-maintained and very inexpensive. Great club, well run. And I just don’t feel like going to the airport. Simming? Sign me up. But I’m sitting here right now, work is over, I could hop in the car and go to the airport for an evening flight (it’s 6 PM here) and I just don’t feel like it.

The economic burden of flying isn’t that big a deal. And I could fly a whole lot more than I do. I think maybe it’s the training blues. Focusing your flying on a rating isn’t exactly a blast, and it can get repetitive, as opposed to day trips and going to interesting airports. Yet I’m this freaking close to my IR.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation? Where you literally start to wonder, maybe simming is enough for me?

I don’t know. I love the challenge of actual flight. For those of you that do it, you know it’s just different from simming.

Wondering what y’all think.

8 Likes

15 yr Airline Pilot here. I feel you when you talk about simming v. real flying. I can tell you in the Airline world it gets repetitive for me at least. I love the job, but thats what flying is for me now. However when I get on flight sim, I love it. I miss GA flying and MSFS VR has really helped me recapture the magic of it. So its ok.