SDK scenery adventures

Weekend… Playing around putting objects and textured cubes with Blender (I’m an absolute Blender beginner) :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Day 2… I’ve got some stones and a few dinosaurs in there… And there’s right click/Properties/ ground level snap OFF… so objects can be elevated or buried anywhere. Behold Jurassic park stage #1. Now how to get the texture on it :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

2 Likes

Day 4… modifying something in Blender… check if multiple objects can be imported as 1 pair (ok)

1 Like

Day 4… lighting experiments… when you leave lights in Blender, they are incorporated. Lights inside an object will work light lamps.

When it gets dark…

Day 5… transparency (no, my sweet home 3d greenhouses don’t look as they should :yum: yet

Thanks to Basic Alpha Transparency – Blender Knowledgebase I’ve found something, this involves 2 shaders in Blender, and it survives the Khronos glTF-conversion… only cleaned up the texture,

3 Likes

Let’s do something from scratch in Blender.

First create a simple mono color PNG texture with a cube mapping with Blender and Save it, or use an existing cube texture PNG. Then, modify the image in Photosho, drawing the shapes. Fill each shape with “clear Alpha” brush. Save the png and in Blender, create a new Cube, assign a new Material, set Material Color to Texture, then open the modified texture .png file for it. For fun, put a smaller red cube inside… then, export BOTH objects in a GLB 2.0 for MSFS. Put the 3 files that result in a new directory under \modellib. Make sure you put your texture file in \modellib\texture.

Start MSFS, open your project and Build it first. Rebuild until you see 0 errors in Console. Then, open Scenery editor and click Load Assets. Wait until your scenery is loaded. Then go View Objects, find your object name and place the object.

BlenderFunDetail