Seasonal Tree Colors

I wanted to share some images with the flightsimulator.com community of a project that Rob Ainscough and I have been working on for a couple of months. I have been figuring out how tree colors work in the sim, developing a tool that generates file content so I can create color themes quickly, and creating several color themes/presets. Rob has been working diligently on the application build side of things, which encompasses a lot of work. This project Rob and I are working on should be a nice app that will give users the ability to have some nice seasonal TreeScapes.
The last image, by the way, shows trees in the Springtime.

29 Likes

Interesting. Is it related to this mod, or something distinct? Will it require change of the Biome core file or will you be able to deploy using a Community Mod structure?

https://forums.flightsimulator.com/t/looks-like-we-have-fall-season-in-the-sim-now/318204/5

1 Like

It is not related to the mod you referenced. We are looking at having an app that would make the changes needed in the sim.

5 Likes

Nice. What about winter tree color though?

I looks really nice, I’m just worried about how this would interact with updates. I’ve found that messing with the files outside of the community folder can lead to some … let’ say unwanted side effects on patch day.

2 Likes

The first pic is Minneapolis in the where I used mostly brown with a bit of rust colored trees. The second pic is in Vermont where I used only brown trees.

5 Likes

I’m very impressed.

If:

1. devs promise continuous suuport/updates/fixes etc,

2. purchase and installation of the app can be done through MSFS marketplace,

3. app is done in collaboration with MSFS devs/team in a way so that MSFS updates don’t break it and,

4. app doesn’t destabilize MSFS in any shape or form

Then you devs can have my money as soon as you release it. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

No money required. This will be free.

13 Likes