SimBrief Update? Or do they just want my money?

The pic below implicate there is an update for SimBrief.

But when i follow the link it lead me to …

So is there an important update or is it just a cheap trick to advertise?

You shouldn’t need to have a Navigraph Subscription to use Simbrief, but you likely won’t have access to up to date Navdata either. I have a subscription so I don’t know what exactly you would see.

That just seems like a nudge towards getting a subscription.

It is and makes sound business sense, to the OP simbrief continues to be free and it’s a great tool.

1 Like

As mentioned, Simbrief is free to use without a Navigraph subscription however your NavData / AIRAC will be out of date and static.

If you keep everything on the same version, then it really isn’t a problem, however it does start to become a problem when you build flight plans on an old Airac that doesn’t match what the sim or plane has.

If you fly on VATSIM, or another online network, it becomes more of a problem.

So i can update for free? Or is it just nudging as mentioned before.

No, you cannot update the Airac if you don’t have a subscription.

No, you specifically can’t upgrade your AIRAC data as that comes as part of the subscription. You can continue to use out of date data for free though.

1 Like

So how old is this “out of date data” if it never will be updated? 10 years? Older?

Have a look at the interface yourself. It will show you the cycle you are using.

1 Like

Just log into your simbrief, it’ll tell you

2 Likes

Id like to note this is how it worked before Navigraph acquired Simbrief.

5 Likes

Did not everybody who use Navigraph for free also get the same outdated data? I just want to know how old it is and if this will be updated too, or if it gets older a day every day?

Would have been quicker for you to have a look yourself than typing those 2 sentences

2 Likes