Xplane model import

Hi all,

I’m an aeronautical engineering student and today i started my internship. I do this internship at a student team that is converting the viking dragonfly to be fully electric. My assignment is to model the dragonfly in a simulator. There has been made a version in xplane but that is not up to the standard that is required, is there a way to import it to msfs2020 and tweak it?

I am also pretty new to modelling aircraft, do you guys have any tips for me? At the moment I am writing a project plan for the assignment, what is important for me to take in to account when I start comparing xplane with mfsf 2020? And what are the biggest differences between modeling it in xplane or in mfsf 2020?

Tnx for reading, and I look forward to the advice of some of you guys! O7

The modelling itself is the same for every simulator/game/etc… its more about the specific exporting format.
You can find all info related to that in the MSFS SDK.

2 Likes

Take time to learn plane maker in Xplane. They use that to model real-world aircraft before flying them.

Don’t bother with FS, it’s not good enough for serious work.

3 Likes

Why isn’t it good enough?

2 Likes

Good question, lets see with what he comes up.
However, just do the work for the platform you want and feel most comfortable enough, you can pretty much ignore what he said IMHO. :slight_smile:

However, we should focus on what you exactly want to do and what you can do. What you are describing is no simple task, especially if you do not know anything about the easiest part, probably, the modelling.
You`ll have a lot to learn. It doesnt really matter what platform you choose for that.

1 Like

Because with FS you have to write bespoke code to simulate what happens in the real world. XPL has all this built in. It makes sense to learn the actual aerodynamics of what you’re trying to model.