Analyzing Computer Performance vs. FPS in Microsoft Excel from MSI History Log

Rather than just glancing at FPS displayed on my monitor screen or in a graph over flight time, I wanted to be able to do statistical analysis and compare mean and median FPS vs. various graphical settings and see how my GPU and CPUs were doing, including the temps inside the machine.

I found that the .HML log file that can be generated by MSI is essentially a .CSV file (comma separated values) and with no modifications can be opened directly in Microsoft Excel. What I do is after a flight just rename the extension from .hml to .csv. That effectively deletes the current HML file as far as Afterburner is concerned and allows me to easily generate a new one for the next flight. (sorry if the .CSV nature of the .HML file is already well known - I’m a newbie to gaming at age 74). Immediately after opening and freezing the panes around one cell, I save the log data as an .XLSX file, which preserves any formulas or formatting inserted into the spreadsheet and also compresses the file size by a factor of 4 or 5.

The thing that I’ve found introduces the most variability into my average FPS is my exact flight path. If there is a way to completely automate flight on autopilot from takeoff to landing and essentially fly the exact same flight plan second by second in MSFS, thanks for letting me know. That would really make the comparative analysis more meaningful.