How to fly without waypoint markers

Hello all,

Given the bug I reported with the flight planner and non-GPS planes, I can no longer rely on nav markers/routes for flying in consecutive sessions.

My question is – how do people fly without waypoint markers in non-GPS aircraft? Is it basically fly to the HDG in the navlog and pray? :slight_smile: I wonder if the HDG would remain accurate in the navlog given the bug.

I’d appreciate any advice - I am new to aircraft in general so may be missing something obvious. I’d really love to fly my non-GPS planes again. I see a lot of streamers flying without nav aids.Thanks for any tips!

If you’re interested in the bug, see here: Flight Planner Bug: Plotting a new route in the world map doesn't take effect - #34 by mblpenguin

I don’t know if this will answer your question but, I think it’s a good place to start
From the FAA’s web site
“Pilot’s Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge”
PHAK Chapter 16 (faa.gov)

5 Likes

Alex Projects - Little Navmap is your VFR friend

4 Likes

Holy Toledo. Does this work in real time with the sim? If so, you just saved my ■■■■!

1 Like

yes, just follow the instructions for connecting.

I am doing a world tour with the Cessna 152 relying only on VORs. So it works without GPS and all that stuff :wink:

3 Likes

I’m super new to this stuff. How do you do that in a nutshell? I like Little NavMap but the window takes up a huge amount of my screen.

i use a paper map, following coastlines, roads.
using a plan is even simpler, just follow the magenta line, and i never use autopilot…

1 Like

I can recommend some videos on Youtube if you want to dive into this topic.
For the beginning maybe Little Navmap - Installation, Importing data and Basics - YouTube and followed by VOR tutorial like FS2020 Tutorial - Radio Navigation VOR - YouTube

It pays off to invest some time now in the beginning, it will make flight planning and flying so much more fun.

1 Like