Japan Tour on a Diamond DA62

Finally started my tour of Japan, which will bring me around the country on a Diamond DA62 hitting most major spots and plenty of lesser-known ones.

I know Japan quite well since I have been staying there for work for 3-4 months a year for the past 10 years, and due to this human malware thing going on, I’ve been away since January 2020. This is the perfect occasion to dwell into some nostalgia while I wait for the borders to open again. I love the country, and I really miss it.

I’ll be starting from Tokyo and then fly approximately southwest touring the country approximately clockwise along the coast, flying inland when warranted, until I get back to Tokyo. Japan is very narrow, so that’s a good way to hit most of the good spots.

So here’s the full gallery which will include all the likely thousands of pictures of the tour.

Next is the first leg, from Tokyo (RJTT) to Hachijo-Jima (RJTH). Funnily, this small volcanic island is still formally part of Tokyo prefecture despite being 287 km south of the Japanese capital.

This first post is gonna be screenshot and text-heavy just because there’s a lot more to see and explain in Tokyo (I also added to the default scenery with the new Tokyo Enhanced by SamScene3D which fills in some glaring omissions).

This peculiar structure just out of Haneda is the Wind Tower, which is a very fancy ventilation shaft for the Tokyo Bay Aqua-Line highway tunnel that travels under the Tokyo Bay, connecting the Kanagawa prefecture to the Chiba Prefecture (almost 24 km), because Japan is awesome like that.

Odaiba is an artificial island and one of the most beloved resort-like areas in Tokyo, connected via subway, monorail, and the Rainbow Bridge, home to fancy malls, a beach, the famous Gundam statue, a reprodìuction of the Statue of Liberty, lovely fireworks shows, and simply too many attractions to list.