Next Gen! But why not DX12?

I am not an expert when it comes to the programming things, but reading a lot of articles its like everybody assumes way better frame rates with DX12. So why DX11? I just try to understand. It seems like it could be easier to solve all our performance problem. Instead we have to tweak and tweak like in the good old simulator times. I think this is not next gen!?

Greets
Andre

Hi,

Have a look at these discussions - Might provide some insight.

https://forums.flightsimulator.com/t/directx-2/257146/

Thanks,
Brendan.

I’m sure Directx 12 is at least a year or more out.
Some think going to DirectX 12 is a simple re-compiling of the existing code, like upgrading a version of windows. When development of the game started, the standard was DX11. Once they were down the path there is a point where switching platforms would cause huge delays in the game. This includes training the programmers on the new platform (takes time). Then the programmers have to learn the ropes and make/fix mistakes during the learning process (resulting in more bugs and complaints)

The big thing that this platform gives is starting over using 64 bit. FSX and other older sims are extremely limited on possibilities due to the amount of memory and other resources available. 32 bit programs are typically limited to 2-4 gig of memory usage. 64 bit extends that to a number that won’t be seen during most of our lifetimes. For years the horsepower in modern computers has been high but the platform only allowed a fraction of its output to be used.

I would recommend that people try to enjoy the game/sim and appreciate the accomplishment and platform. This is not a typical gaming platform that has a playground size of a few kilometers and few dozen players. This platform is the size of earth and can handle millions of users/players. This is awesome stuff to people who remember the original game.
Happy Flying
Jim

2 Likes