Question regarding "TO / FROM VOR"

Hello All
I have a question in regards to VOR navigation:

So far I was of the opinion that my instruments would show me a “TO course” when I fly TOwards a VOR. And if I fly away, the arrow would show FROM.

But recently I have every now an then the situation that I capture a VOR ahead of me but the signal shows the FROM arrow. I thus have to set the opposite course to go TO this VOR.

Do you know why this is like that? It only happens randomly. Am I doing something wrong? The VOR station is the correct one I track - I checked the identifier etc.

best
Merlin

Hi @Merlini10!

First, please let me tell you I am no expert - I haven’t trained at all (if not by my own means).

There is no such thing as a “TO” radial when we talk about VOR navigation. You have to consider VORs as “emitting devices” - therefore, they will produce those 360 radials from them. Or goal is to intercept the radial.

Here are some links that should be useful for you :

1. You WILL Understand VORs after Watching This! (PPL Lesson 37) - YouTube
  2. VOR Navigation with Traditional Gauges | Microsoft Flight Simulator Tutorial - YouTube
  3. Learning to fly in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 (Setting up your sim for training.) - YouTube
  4. VOR Navigation Tutorial (Part I) - MSFS - YouTube
  5. Flight Simulator 2020 - VFR navigation part 2, dead reckoning (AH VFR/private pilot flt lesson 9) - YouTube

Happy viewing!

2 Likes

Moved to #student-pilots:basic-gameplay-help

1 Like

The CDI instrument can tell you two things: if you’re left or right of the selected radial, and if you’re going to or from the VOR station.

To determine which radial you’re on, once you’ve tuned in the proper VOR, center the CDI with a FROM flag. Because remember, these radials emit from the station! Now read the number at the top of the compass rose (under the arrow).
This is the radial you are on.