Flying Round The World in a C208 - Monty's Trip

Hi all!

I’m Monty, and simply put, I have decided to start a “Round the World” project! I completed leg 1 today, flying from CYTZ to CYUL, and will be continuing east from there! I am a real world PPL Group 3 IFR pilot, so I am going to be doing live weather, and VATSIM for the whole flight to hopefully keep me sharp on flight planning, procedures and comms. I have extensive experience in XPlane, but have decided to throw all my efforts in FS2020.

After test flights, and weighing the options, I decided to go with the “dgtlanlg Cessna 208B” for the trip, along with the Working Title G1000. My thought process was that it is IFR capable, is a good low flyer to take in the FS2020 scenery with, can get into all kinds of strips, and is a single engine which I am used to in real life.

As for the routing. Like I said, I am in CYUL Montreal now and leg 2 will be CYUL to CYBC Baie-Comeau Airport. From there I am hoping for some help! I am split on heading north towards CYVM Qikiqtarjuaq Airport to eventually make the crossing to Greenland, or heading more east towards CYQX Gander, and then long hauling it, and pushing the C208 range to BGBW Narsarsuaq Airport.

After that the world is my oyster. My ideal routing would be to start in Scandinavia after Greenland and move South through Europe. Then Africa, back up to Egypt and the Middle East, up to Kazakhstan, back down through the Himalayas, east to Japan, south to Phillippines, Australia, New Zealand, somehow hop over to South America, and then back up home to CYTZ. This will obviously be more of a “Round the World” trip more dedicated to exploring and learning then efficiency of route.

It’s a big task, but I am done with the mindless FSEconomy flights on routes that I know, and at this stage I decided to just go for it. I’m going to try and stream all the legs on Twitch, and would love to build a small community around the project.