Quest 2 Quality

Hi There,

Does anyone else tried to play VR with a quest 2 via link cable ?

I gave a try during the day, and the graphics quality I get into the headset seems a bit crappy.

I have a pretty nice rig, 10700k, 32Gb RAM, RTX 3070, and even with putting some VR settings at max, I don’t get any satisfying result…

Did I missed something, or do I expect too much from my headset / config ? (I’m pretty new to VR)

Can you be more specific?

If you are referring to clarity to read gauges/text at a distance then yes don’t expect to have pin sharp small text at a distance. VR has improved but it has nowhere the clarity you get with your pc monitors.

If you are referring to jerky/stuttering then your rig just isn’t setup to get the frame rates which VR needs so you don’t get motion sickness.

Many here are having performance issues but that can be expected as even without VR many are not hitting 30+fps in the sim.

Personally I am getting average 20fps on an rtx2070 laptop with spikes up to 25fps. Playable maybe, but not a very pleasant experience for VR. In another flight sim game I can get 50+fps in VR but with the quest 2 the gauges are more legible than with my cv1 but things like the radio freq in the gps are a bit of a struggle to read without moving in closer or zooming.

I use a Quest 2 via link cable, set render scale to 100 in MSFS and make sure that you have your PC Link in Oculus setup for a good resolution also. I have mine at 90Hz and Render Resolution at 1.0x (3696 x 1872). I did disable ASW (Asynchronous Spacewarp) using the Oculus Debug Tool because it made my screen look like it was melting.

1 Like

I am also with Quest 2 with Oculus Quest 2, RTX 3080. Render Scale on 100%, 1.5X and ASW disabled. Quality is very good and everything is readable. Around 30FPS in C152

And is textures quality good for you both ? To me it just looks like a game from 10years ago

I am using the Quest 2, BUT here is the catch: