Stutter Fix - Sim Update 3

here is a stutter fix that worked for me - fixed terrible performance in VR in highly dense scenery…

YMMV

good luck!

7 Likes

works great for me! thanks

1 Like

this should help - working well everywhere - with breathing headroom…

3 Likes

I’ve been using this for several months, it didn’t help me with the stutter from SU3.

2 Likes

I run 64GB ram and haven’t used a paging file for sims or anything else for probably a decade.

Always set to “No paging file”.

If I had an app which was filling up my ram, I’d buy more ram or reconfigure the app.

I don’t like the way paging is implemented in Windows. If you give it a paging file of any type, Windows will start paging stuff to it immediately, even though you have tons of free ram available. The only way to stoop this waste of computing time is to not give it a paging file in the first place. But then you must be sure you have enough ram to run whatever you need to run concurrently.

I started doing this years ago, and the only app which ever moaned was a very old copy of Photoshop. Even that has been fine with it since around CS4, which was a long time ago.

4 Likes

the problem with that, is having no paging file whatsoever can cause some apps etc to crash irrespective of how much RAM you have free, it is best to have at least a token fixed amount of ~4GB even if its on an old HDD rather than none.

1 Like

Same here. The virtual memory “fix” has been discussed numerous times and it worked for many, but not after Su3

2 Likes

Yer gonna need to come up with a list to prove that. :slight_smile:

I’ve been computing extensively without any swap files for at least a decade, and I use many really complex apps on several computers - sims, recording studio, graphics studio, etc. Not one of them has a problem with it.