ATC Incorrect Phraseology

Hello. I’m an airline pilot, just bought the game, and did a quick VFR flight:

Correct ATC interaction for flight following:

You: “[who you’re talking to] [your call sign] [location and altitude] request flight following”
ATC: “[call sign] radar contact [location] squawk [ code] ident, [altimeter setting]”
You: “[your call sign] squawk [code], ident, [altimeter setting]”

This format is important because it gives ATC everything they need while minimally jamming up the radio.

Example:
“Boston Approach, Cessna 55555, 10 miles NW of Mansfield Airport 1,500, request flight following”
Momentary delay while they figure out which blip is you and attach all the tracking info on their computers
“Cessna 555, radar contact, 12 miles NW of Mansfield Airport 1,800, squawk 4146, altimeter 30.18, ident”
“Cessna 555, squawk 4146, 30.18, ident”
Typically once you have a controller’s attention you don’t keep using their call sign, but technically, you should. You always use your call sign because the ATCer is talking to a lot of other pilots and they need to verify the correct person took the instruction. They also usually have you ident to make sure they locked on to the right transponder.

FS2020 had a lot of extra unnecessary verbiage and still didn’t read back the altimeter, which a real world controller would require.

I know these issues sound nit-noidy, but this is what will separate FS2020 between a game and an actual training platform that future pilots will use to get their wings.

Hello,
I’m a real-life ATC, and I am quite disapointed by FS ATC. I didn’t expect a professional result, but MSFS ATC is not better (and sometimes worse) than FSX. I just delegate it to the automatic co-pilot, for the atmosphere and to pick some information on the way (runway in use, QNH…). And after a couple of bad experience, now I often disregard the instructions.