Disappointed in Sim Update 5

I wanted to make this post to highlight several issues with Sim Update 5 that are significantly affecting the enjoyment of the sim.

I am very disappointed with the implementation of the performance “improvements”. This update feels like a huge downgrade in visual quality with the constant pop-ins and scenery re-loading. Keep in mind, I am running a top spec PC (10700k, 3080, 64gb ram) and had no major issues prior to this patch.

However, visuals are not the only issue with the update as described below. I’d like to mention that I have over 1,350 hours played in MSFS as of this posting so I have extensive experience in this sim.

Top Issues:

1. Pop-in when moving the camera view. It’s especially bad in VR since your view is constantly moving as you move your head. This is by far the biggest issue with the latest update. It has significantly decreased the visuals of this sim, at the gain of some FPS. For those of us with no FPS issues pre-update, this really sucks. It’s extremely immersion killing to constantly watch the scenery re-drawn in front of your eyes. This new render method needs to be optional, or completely redone.
  1. Switching views and/or translating the camera in VR using a gamepad now causes the mouse to pop up, double vision, front and center of your view until you move it away. It’s very distracting after a couple of view switches.

1. Slew mode controls are now inversed (left on the joystick moves the plane right)

2. Tooltips are now enlarged and obtrusive, even after reverting to legacy mode. Tooltips now unnecessarily show the eye with arrow letting you know where the knob is, even in legacy mode. The tooltips also appear too quickly even with “delayed” mode enabled.

3. Draw distance significantly reduced (especially noticeable in VR)